Shaw Brothers Film Library

He was born in 1934 in Guangzhou, the son of veteran actor Zhang Huo-you. Inspired by his father, he studied chemistry at Chung Shan University. Later on, his desire to make movies took over and began his film career as a scriptwriter in 1956. He added directing to his resume in 1957. By the end of the 1960's, Chu Yuan has already helmed over 70 movies in Cantonese, and garnered a wealth of experience as a director.

Chu Yuan joined Shaw Brothers in 1971, his first project at Shaw's was Duel For Gold. But he quickly made a name for himself in the following year by directing the highly acclaimed Intimate Confessions Of A Chinese Courtesan, then writing and directing the hugely popular 1973 version of the landmark comedy The House Of 72 Tenants. But it was with magnificent martial arts movies and superlative swordplay films that he garnered fame, especially in his collaborations with the wu xia genre's most renowned fiction writers, Louis Cha of Hong Kong and Ku Lung of Taiwan.

After the unique style of martial arts movies created by renowned directors King Hu King-chuan and Chang Cheh, Chu Yuan became famous for his own style of swordplay movies, which were mixtures of romantic, glamorous, aesthetic and mysterious swordplay dramas, adapted from Ku Lung's novels, and usually staring Ti Lung and a cast of beautiful actresses.

In addition, Chu is also a famous actor, he has made memorable appearances in such films as Jackie Chan’s Police Story and Thunderbolt.

(Film available in Celestial’s Shaw Brothers Film Library with year of production/theatrical release)

Duel For Gold (1971)
The Killer (1971)
Intimate Confessions Of A Chinese Courtesan (1972)
The Lizard (1972)
The Villains (1973)
The Bastard (1973)
The House Of 72 Tenants (1973)
Sex. Love And Hate (1974)
Hong Kong 73 (1974)
Sorrow Of The Gentry (1974)
Lovers Destiny (1975)
The Big Holdup (1975)
The Forbidden Past (1976)
Killer Clans (1976)
The Magic Blade (1976)
Farewell To A Warrior(1976)
The Web Of Death (1976)
Clans Of Intrigue (1976)
The Jade Tiger (1977)
Death Duel (1977)
The Sentimental Swordsman (1977)
Pursuit Of Vengeance (1977)
Clan Of Amazons (1978)
Legend Of The Bat (1978)
Heaven Sword And Dragon Sabre (1978)
Heaven Sword And Dragon Sabre 2 (1978)
Swordsman And Enchantress (1978)
Full Moon Scimitar (1979)
Murder Plot (1979)
The Proud Twins (1979)
The Convict Killer (1980)
Haunted Tales (1980)
Heroes Shed No Tears (1980)
Return Of The Sentimental Swordsman (1980)
Bat Without Wings (1980)
Roving Swordsman (1980)
The Emperor And His Brother (1981)
The Duel Of The Century (1981)
The Black Lizard (1981)
Perils Of The Sentimental Swordsman (1981)
The Spirit Of The Sword (1982)
Descendant Of The Sun (1983)
The Hidden Power Of Dragon Sabre (1983)
Mad, Mad, 83 (1983)
The Enchantress (1984)
Lust For Love Of A Chinese Courtesan (1984)
Let's Have A Baby (1985)

Download Catalogue
© 2010 Celestial Pictures Limited. All Rights Reserved.   T & C   |   Site Map